Camp Davies (1862-1864) - A U.S. Civil War Camp established in 1862 near Corinth, Alcorn County, Mississippi. Named Camp Davies after Union Brigadier General Thomas A. Davies, (Cullum 565). Abandoned in 1864.
Camp Davies was located some six miles south of Corinth along the lower reaches of Clear Creek, not far from its junction with the Tuscumbia River. The camp cantonment area was enclosed by a squared log stockade and had about forty buildings enclosed within the walls. This location provided the fresh water and forage for the horses that Corinth lacked.
Included among the buildings here were barracks, a hospital, commissary, and even a Masonic Hall. Fifteen-foot pine trees were transplanted to create shady avenues. There was a spacious parade ground on the inside of the stockade and a target range on the outside.
Confederate scouts and guerrillas were always around the fringes of the camp, ready to grab any unwary soldier who wandered too far from the compound. Regular forays were sent out from the camp to chase away the enemy, often returning with prisoners of their own.
On 24 Jan 1864, the Union forces abandoned Corinth and transferred men and equipment to Memphis because Corinth was no longer the strategic rail center. The 1st Alabama Cavalry set fire to the Camp Davies buildings and stockade and the camp was reduced to ashes.
To learn more about Camp Davies go to the Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center. The rangers can provide detailed directions out to the Camp Davies site and show you where to find more research material about this unique Corinth location. The Center is located at 501 West Linden Street and is open from 8:00 to 5:00 daily. Park staff can be reached at 662-287-9273.