Fort Cosmos

From FortWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Fort Cosmos (1885-1886) - A US Navy wintering station established in 1885 by U.S. Navy Lieutenant George M. Stoney, near present day Kobuk, Northwest Arctic Borough, Alaska. Named Fort Cosmos by Lt. Stoney after the Cosmos Club in Washington, DC. Abandoned in 1886.

History

In 1885, on orders from the US Navy, Navy Lieutenant George M. Stoney, with 5 officers and 12 men in the 390-ton schooner Viking, a stern-wheel steamboat, the Explorer, and a steam cutter, the Helena, was detailed to explore the region.

Lt. Stoney established the fort on the right bank of Kobuck River at mouth of Cosmos Creek. He erected buildings and brought in supplies to prepare for the winter and for a comprehensive exploration of the area. Seven exploration parties were sent out:

Exploration Trips
Out Return Leader Area
1 Dec 1885 18 Dec 1885 Lt. George M. Stoney Noatak
6 Dec 1885 12 Dec 1885 F.S. Nash, Surgeon Yukon
26 Dec 1885 25 Feb 1886 A.V. Zane, Asst. Engineer St. Michael
29 Dec 1885 7 Jan 1886 Lt. George M. Stoney Selawik basin
28 Feb 1886 6 Apr 1886 Lt. George M. Stoney Colville
10 Mar 1886 2 Apr 1886 Ensign M.L. Reed Hot Springs on Reed River
12 Apr 1886 Returned to States Ensign W.L. Howard Colville to Point Barrow

Fort abandoned in 1886.

Current Status

No remains.


Location: Kobuk, Northwest Arctic Borough, Alaska.

Maps & Images

Lat: 66.86667 Long: -157.3

See Also:

Sources:

Links:

Visited: No


Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
content
Share
Google AdSense
Toolbox